New Year Starts With Golden Globe Awards

New Year Starts With Golden Globe Awards
Sam Mendes accepting the Golden Globe award for Best Director for '1917' (Image: Paul Drinkwater/NBC Universal/Handout via Reuters)

The annual Golden Globe Awards for films and television productions has been organized by Hollywood Foreign Press Association since 1944. This year’s Golden Globe Award ceremony was held in Beverly Hills, Los Angeles on Sunday. The 77th edition of this grand show was hosted by actor, producer, director Ricky Gervais.

Apart from the regular awards, this year Hollywood legend Tom Hanks has been honored with Cecil B. DeMille Award for his outstanding contributions in cinema and popular show host Ellen DeGeneres was given the Carol Burnett Award for her contributions in television industry.

Let’s Check The Full List Of The Golden Globe Winners:

Best motion picture (drama):  1917
Best actress (motion picture, drama):  Renée Zellweger (Judy)
Best actor (motion picture drama):  Joaquin Phoenix (Joker)
Best motion picture (musical/comedy):  Once Upon a Time In Hollywood
Best actress (motion picture, musical/comedy):  Awkwafina (The Farewell)
Best actor (motion picture, musical/comedy):  Taron Egerton (Rocketman)
Best motion picture (animated):  Missing Link
Best motion picture (foreign language):  Parasite
Best supporting actress (motion picture):  Laura Dern (Marriage Story)
Best supporting actor (motion picture):  Brad Pitt (Once Upon a Time in Hollywood)
Best director (motion picture):  Sam Mendes (1917)
Best screenplay (motion picture):  Quentin Tarantino (Once Upon a Time In Hollywood)
Best original score:  Hildur Gudnadottir (Joker)
Best original song (motion picture):  I’m Gonna Love Me Again (Rocketman)
Best television series (drama):  Succession
Best actress (television series, drama):  Olivia Colman (The Crown)
Best actor (television series, drama):  Brian Cox (Succession)
Best television series (musical/comedy):  Fleabag
Best actress (television series, musical/comedy):  Phoebe Waller-Bridge (Fleabag)
Best actor (television series, musical/comedy):  Ramy Youssef (Ramy)
Best television limited series/TV movie:  Chernobyl
Best actress (limited series/TV movie):  Michelle Williams (Fosse/Verdon)
Best actor (limited series/TV movie):  Russell Crowe (The Loudest Voice)
Best supporting actress (limited series/TV movie):  Patricia Arquette (The Act)
Best supporting actor (limited series/TV movie):  Stellan Skarsgård (Chernobyl)

Special Honors:

Cecil B. DeMille Award:  Tom Hanks
Carol Burnett Award:  Ellen DeGeneres